Or so I thought. It seems that Virgin doesn't open its counters, or the automatic kiosks, until two hours before the first flight of the day. Which isn't until 3:00 in the afternoon. Which means we cant get boarding passes or check bags until at least 1:00PM. Oh well some lunch and some relaxing in the JFK food court should fix that. Of course our flight isn't scheduled to depart until 11:00PM. So sitting in the airport for 12 hours with two young children didn't sound like the most fun in the world. Fortunately once the counters opened at 1:00PM I was able to flirt our way into an earlier flight, at no charge of course, and get us out of JFK by 7:00PM. Yeah!!
By taking an earlier flight we lost the kids meals I had reserved for the later flight. But, the kids can deal, right? The other problem with the earlier flight was with the in-flight entertainment. Or I should say, the lack of entertainment. About 5 mins into the flight, the system (which looked to be very cool. Games, 100+ on-demand movies, TV shows etc...) crashed and they couldn't fix it. Fortunately I had loaded my iPad up with a ton of movies for the kids so they didn't mind. I did mind but let it go as a fluke occurrence.
The rest of the flight was fairly standard. The kids hated the food, the plane was too cold, etc. Finally we land at Heathrow and dis-embark the plane. Prior to landing we were told by the flight attendants that we only needed to fill out one customs card per family. FYI, this is NOT the case when entering the UK. It's one per person, including the kids. So we had to scramble to obtain additional cards and fill them in while trying to get into the customs line. Not fun. The only good thing is the delay allowed us to meet up with the sister-in-law and the rest of the crew travelling with her in customs. They finally made it by traveling to Boston from DFW, then on to London. Ahhh, stand-by travel.
After getting 5 adults, 1 tween and 4 children through customs, I lead everyone to the tube stop, help everyone purchase Oyster cards (best way to pay for the tube!) and we were off for our hotel! Unfortunately we arrived during rush hour and the tube was crammed! We had to squeeze 10 people, plus luggage, into an already overcrowded train. Then we had to switch from the Piccadilly line to the District Line, at Hammersmith. Those familiar with London and the Underground probably are feeling my pain right about now. Alas, we finally make it to Tower Hill where our hotel is located. After a few minutes or orienteering I lead us on to the hotel. We drop off our bags (since the rooms aren't ready) and decide to hit the Tower of London, as it's the closest sight. After about 20mins of walking around the Tower massive jet-lag hits us and we end up heading back to the hotel to crash for the night (yes at about 1:00PM, if that!).
[We did venture out to Piccadilly Circus to find dinner, but that was pretty uneventful, if rather tasty.]
So ended day 1 in London. Day 2 to follow.
No comments:
Post a Comment